‘O Sole Mio

‘O sole mio is an Italian song written in 1898 by Eduardo do Capua and Alfredo Mazziucchi and translates to, “my sunshine”.  It is often associated with Italian restaurants – think of the Lady and the Tramp dinner scene.D4E3D592-8880-47EE-9881-E0E7B98B55FB

With self isolation still in place and my favorite pizza joint closed, I decided to make my own sunshine. One important thing you have to know about me is I LOVE Italian food and pizza is at the very top.

You don’t have to know how to make anything to make pizza.  You can find everything you need at your local grocery store…it’s that simple.  I’m not joking. Pizza dough, sauce (I prefer Rao’s) and mozzarella cheese (it even comes already shredded).  You can add any toppings you like.  Like I said, ok wrote, simple.

Here’s what to do:
1.Pehead oven to 400 degrees.  I used my barbecue-even easier- and a pizza stone.  I highly recommend using a pizza stone; it give the crust great crunch and even all around doneness.
Pizza stone tips: heat slowly!! And cool slowly!! If you either heat or cool quickly it will
1. Have a board with flour or corn meal. Either stretch or roll the dough into a 18” circle.  Make sure you keep the board and dough floured or else it will stick and you will not be able to transfer it to the pizza stone.
2. Spread the sauce in a circular motion.  Leave room by the crust.
3. Add shredded mozzarella cheese and any toppings you like.  I sautéed onions, peppers, and sausage (remove the meat from he casings and while sautéing, break into bite size pieces).


5. Cook for 20-24 minutes checking occasionally for doneness.
6. Mangiare!

8D38B14E-4EAF-4818-B5FA-1366AF7D252D

88406F38-52F8-4BF3-ADA9-70B3115C2480
Look who photobombed my picture! Love that dog!

Leave a comment