In “The City”

This past weekend, Big D. and I went to visit Nick in the city.  It’s funny.  It’s always been: We’re going “into the city, up to the city ” or we are “in the city”. Like NYC is the only city in the USA.  My family does not refer to Philadelphia as the “city’.  We always go “to Philly”.  I wonder if other communities around big cities refer to their city as “the city”.

Nick has been in his apartment for just about one year and he has been slowly ticking off “tourist” destinations that he wants to visit.  He happened to mention that he was heading to Katz’s deli after our visit was over.  Little did he realize that our visit just extended itself to include a trip to SoHo for pastrami sandwiches.

I know you all have been to Katz’s deli even if you live clear across the country.  How do I know this?  Have you ever seen the movie When Harry Met Sally?   YEEESSSS  THAT DELI!  I must confess – I never saw the movie.  Shhhhh.  Don’t tell.

I hope if you ever find yourself “in the city”, you visit Katz’s Deli.  Don’t forget to order “what she had”.

XO
Annemarie

 

Leave a Reply

