Painting and Cooking

I have spent the past few days painting the trim in my kitchen.  This is no easy one day project.  My kitchen is an open floor plan  and the trim goes on for miles.  Oh, it stops every once in a while for a gargage door, laundry room door, pantry door, window trim and on and on and on…Oh look – we’re in Texas!

Last night Big D. took pity on me and ordered in pizza for dinner.  Pizza dinner was fun with salad and sangria however, I don’t think two night in a row of take out is going to fly.  Preparing a dinner after paining was not sounding like something I wanted to do.  I had some salmon in the refrigerator and Big D. really likes when I make Asian-Fusion Salmon.  It’s great when it’s cold too so I thought it would be perfect.  I’ve had this recipe forever – torn out of a magazine I can’t even remember which one and when. Here is what  you need:

IMG_4905
I made this dish even easier using a disposable pan.

 

In a bowl combine:

4 Tbsp Hoisin sauce
2 Tbsp brown sugar
2 Tbsp soy sauce
2Tbsp rice vinegar
1Tbsp toasted sesame oil
2 tsp grated ginger
1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
2 Tbsp corn starch

Here is what you do:

Place 4-6 (8oz) salmon filets in a shallow baking dish/pan coated with cooking spray. Sprinkle with kosher salt (not too much remember the soy sauce is salty). Spoon half the mixture over the filets and bake in a preheated 400 degree oven for 10 minutes.  Spoon the rest of the mixture, sprinkle with sliced scallions, and bake for another 10 minutes.

It really is that yummy, it’s fool proof, and it’s easy.  Hint: I did not want to turn on the oven on a 95 degree summer day in NJ. so I fired up the barbecue and lit it heat until it reached 400. Even easier!

Hope you like it.
XO
Annemarie

Leave a Reply

