Farm Girl Vintage: I was Thinking…

I have been looking for a project that is fun and “care free”. I went digging in the abyss of “the stash” and came across Lori Holt of Bee in my Bonnet’s Farm Girl Vintage.

IMG_0912

How Fun!! I really fell in love with Lori’s block designs. I dug up all my 30’s repos -and there are A LOT! Good thing. The blocks are just so darn cute.

Inspired by the movie Julie and Julia, where Amy Adams, aka Julie, embarks on a yearlong quest to make 524 recipes from Julia Child’s Cookbook in one year and blog her journey, I thought it would be fun to reproduce the same thought with Lori’s Vintage Girl Farm. I have until the end of August as Michaela saw the book and sample block and declared it was hers! Both she and my sister remind me of the seagulls in “Finding Nemo”…Mine, Mine, Mine. She is however the agriculture major in the family, so hers it is.

First things first…the plan. Ok, here it is:

How big?? Lori has directions for 6” and 12” blocks. I want to complete all of the blocks (48 of them!). So, 6” blocks it is. That would make the ‘main’ quilt 43”x57” with 1” sashings. Ok, here is where it becomes a little sticky…Lori used an inner border, then flying geese, and then an outer border bringing the grand total to 62.5”x76.5”. When I looked at the picture I thought the flying geese were prairie points. Right?! Don’t they? I’m going to table this for now and revisit when the main part of the top is done.

That settled, totally scrappy or somewhat scrappy? Let’s walk on the wild side and use different whites and whites with small designs for the block backgrounds making it totally scrappy.

Now the hard part…time and which blocks first? Here is my thinking….I need to complete this by the end of August. If I finish 3 blocks a week –starting mid-March I should (now there is the opportune word – I have Crabtree’s Witches in progress and oh yeah, that thing called work that gets in the way of all my plans all the time. But it does pay for my QH -Quilting Habit) finish by mid-July allowing time to add borders, quilt, and bind by mid-August. I think this is pretty ambitious, but I’m going to give it the Old College Try.

I was going to follow the book and go in order, but I need some creative leeway. I’m going to go with the flow on this. Oh My Gosh, I’m totally living on the wild side.

IMG_0913
Holy Moley-what a stash

I’ve got to go color organize all those fat quarters.

XXOO-Annemarie

Leave a Reply

